More Than a Garden Shed

Shed exterior

My place: I am going to add a front porch this summer.

Postcards

Found these old post cards online and glued them to the wall.

Chandelier

This light came from a kitchen remodel that my husband did.

Escape

My place to escape

In February, Deborah Norton of Acworth, GA, shared a photo of her shed, above, on our Facebook page. “Repainted my potting shed this past summer. I have an old chandelier inside that provides light; running water and shelves with light for starting seedlings. This month, I added my Bottle Tree! Absolutely tacky and absolutely lovin’ it!” We love it, too, and so did many of our Facebook fans. We asked her to tell us more:

I built the shed in 1999, with a little help from my husband. My husband and a friend built the base, the plywood floor, and framed walls. We purchased outdoor-grade plywood for the outside, as well as two storm windows, which are on each side. We got the door and the front window from someone who was remodeling. I put the siding up by myself and got my neighbor to help me hang the door and front window.

I have always been an avid gardener. I love to grow my own veggies, flowers, herbs, etc. In fact, everything in my yard — with the exception of a tulip poplar and some azaleas — were either started by me from seed or propagation.

The shed project was inspired by an outdoor potting table my husband built for me years ago. I placed it in my side yard, behind my veggie garden. I would hook a hose up to it and do most of my potting there. Today, that same table is inside the shed, minus the sink. In the meantime, I am looking for a used kitchen sink.

I used to start a lot of seeds in my basement. I rigged up a shelving unit and would start my seeds early each year. I had the lights on a timer and covered the whole thing in some heavy clear plastic in the colder months. I always started my seeds in January, which is a bit too early here — but I just couldn’t help myself. I always ended up with tomato plants already bearing fruit by the time I could get them into my garden. Then grandkids happened and my gardening took a back burner. I still start some seeds in my shed, but just for a very small 4×4 square foot garden. This year I am going to try corn, okra, green beans, squash, cucumbers and peppers.

I use my shed for storage in addition to seedstarting, repotting and overwintering. It is a quiet place to hang out in when I need to get away from the hubby and our two dogs, Mimzy and Jenny. A lot of my tools I inherited from my grandfather and found some at estate sales.

My garden is my whole yard; shrubs, perennials, annuals, herbs, succulents, etc. I have a dry stream bed with plantings along the side in my front yard and I built my own above-ground goldfish pond several years ago with a biological filter. I have 22 pet-shop gold fish that have grown into monster gold fish.

The view from the inside, at my potting table

Pond

My pond

<!–

XXXXX

–>

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Than a Garden Shed

  1. Anonymous says:

    What a neat idea with the tree! Love your shed and it's a one of a kind retreat. I think i like the pond feature most of all. After a long day of gardening, I bet it's nice to sit and listen to the water and dream up more clever ideas to enhance the beauty of your garden!
    J. Holland, Arlington, TX

  2. Bonnie K says:

    I sure love how it looks. Thanks for sharing.

  3. MaryEllen says:

    I'm moving in !!!

Leave a Reply

